How old are you?

Just curious how old we all are? Not that it really matters but I was just wondering.

To get the ball rolling, I'm 21.

Old enough to have a child who is a core contributor or wrote like most of the gems I use :slight_smile:

Richard Burton wrote:

Just curious how old we all are? Not that it really matters but I was just wondering.

Why do you ask?

To get the ball rolling, I'm 21.

I'm young enough to have lots of energy, optimism, and ambition, and old enough to have learned from lots of mistakes. :slight_smile:

Best,

I've been in my current job longer than that.

Old enough to have a two-year old and a newborn. Ive been working at my job for 11 years now. My 30th birthday was a year ago...

@david khan

And strangely, you know how to use a computer j/k

@david khan

And strangely, you know how to use a computer j/k

yeah, I got a paper route in 4th grade to buy a Vic 20 with 8k and learn Basic. Which is about the extent of my formal training :slight_smile:

I remember when I was interviewing a student for a software engineering post and he said his father was a software engineer. It was quite a shock. Until then it had not occurred to me that anyone looking for a job could have a father who was be a software engineer!

Colin

I remember when I was interviewing a student for a software engineering post and he said his father was a software engineer. It was quite a shock. Until then it had not occurred to me that anyone looking for a job could have a father who was be a software engineer!

Now, I may have been dramatic, I am 38. But when I look at github I see so many who look like they are still in high school :slight_smile:

Well if this adds more perspective my father who although is a physicist and not a programmer, used ibm punchcards for his computer programs. So if you dropped the box and they got out of order…

And of course there is 1/2 of the world built on cobol and fortran.