how does the controller "know" about the model?

I am going through the Depot application tutorial in the Agile book and have a question...

How is that I can put a reference to my model (i.e. @products = Produts.all) in my store controller (or any other for that matter) and it just "knows" about it.

To me that seems a lot like global variables which I thought were a no-no. I would expect a require statement at the top or something like that.

In Rails, all controllers know about all models. The controllers are just a way to namespace your app into separate logical pieces. When you do Product.all, Product is a class where all your model methods live, it has nothing to do with any controllers.

In Ruby, global variables begin with $.

Hi,

I'm a Rails newbie myself, but I think that all required .rb files are automatically required when you boot up your app by invoking "script/server". This probably done in either boot.rb or environment.rb. If you didn't know, you can invoke "script/console" and create objects from your model in an irb-like command line. I believe it works the same way. Everything that's required, is automatically required by the framework's internals.

(If I'm wrong, there is probably someone more knowledgable that could clarify further).

Thanks for the responses!

So to me it seems like Ruby/Rails controllers know about the model; since Rails "stitches" the view, controllers and model together for you I guess that makes sense.

A similar thing that is throwing me for a loop is something like this.

test "should get index" do     get :index     assert_response :success     assert_select '#columns #side a' , :minimum => 4     assert_select '#main .entry' , 3     assert_select 'h3' , 'Programming Ruby 1.9'     assert_select '.price' , /\$[,\d]+\.\d\d/   end