How do I know if RoR is for me?

I'm trying to assemble a web app w/database. My first. This is a personal project; not at the office.

I'm an engineer, and I've done desktop programming for years (C/C++/ Delphi) with some local database experience.

The web app is simple (from my perspective), but I'm overwhelmed by choices of development languages, databases, frameworks, script languages, tiers, technologies, etc... Overwhelmed to a state of paralysis.

I need to pick a "package of technologies" that will allow me to convert my concept into a working app. I've done some Ruby scripting with Google Sketchup, and have a nice Ruby reference in the bookcase. So maybe RoR would work for me. Or maybe there's a better way. Or maybe it's simpler than I think.

So what questions do I need to ask/answer to come up with the "best" (and I know there's more than one) way to do my development? And who do I ask these questions to?

Any advice is more than welcome!

I'm trying to assemble a web app w/database. My first. This is a personal project; not at the office.

I'm an engineer, and I've done desktop programming for years (C/C++/ Delphi) with some local database experience.

The web app is simple (from my perspective), but I'm overwhelmed by choices of development languages, databases, frameworks, script languages, tiers, technologies, etc... Overwhelmed to a state of paralysis.

I need to pick a "package of technologies" that will allow me to convert my concept into a working app. I've done some Ruby scripting with Google Sketchup, and have a nice Ruby reference in the bookcase. So maybe RoR would work for me. Or maybe there's a better way. Or maybe it's simpler than I think.

So what questions do I need to ask/answer to come up with the "best" (and I know there's more than one) way to do my development? And who do I ask these questions to?

Randy wrote: