guides on css strategy

I'm having to design the UI to a small site, and that means dabbling in css. I've never been able to get any kind of decent idea as to how to decide on classes and id-ing. I've had a sniff around the internet without success: people seem to be as clueless as me. I've even examined the css/markup of a few sites and it hasn't been enlightening.

Does anyone know of a good source of info on css class decisions, and ids? Even better with rails inm ind. Something that broke through for you might be good. I'm not so interested in how css works: that's easy to find, and I have a pretty good idea already.

I’m no CSS expert by any stretch of the imagination. However, I do have one bit of advice: don’t name classes based on attributes, such as color; instead, name classes for what they are. For example, don’t create a class named blue_table; rather, create one named line_items, if that’s what you’re presenting.

The problem with a name such as blue_table is that you might change the color to green and the markup to use something other than a table. Then you also should change the CSS class name, but you only have to change it because it’s named poorly.

One of my partners likes the Blueprint CSS framework [ http://www.blueprintcss.org/ ]. I suspect it will serve as a good example.

Regards, Craig

Thanks, Craig.

A warning about Blueprint: The appeal of Blueprint is in its outstanding grid framework: less on its naming conventions (it uses span-1, span-2 etc. as class names, which are NOT semantic, although very useful)

I find the best way to think of ids and classnames as specific and generic and nothing to do with style. So If you have one main headline on a page, it would have an ID of "headline", whereas if you had a series of articles, you could have a class="articles" ...

... that said, you could also have a surrounding div called "articles" and refer to the elements inside using CSS selectors.