future of scaffolding / simple suggestion

Hi, I have a change I want to submit, just want to check that it's relevant first.

Is scaffolding continuing as normal?

When I see posts about getting rid of dynamic scaffolding, does that refer to scaffolding .erb templates, or to the scaffold controller method?

The scaffolding templates all use

<% for x in y %>

instead of

<% x.each do |y| %>

Total subtle psychological difference, but with Rails having such incredible success, a little thing like that will encourage a lot of new Ruby programmers to use iterators instead of explicit iteration. For many programmers this is a big change:

When I started programming in Ruby, another programmer criticized my code. He was real subtle about it. Any time I wrote a for loop, he told me he'd never used one in Ruby. I was like, sure, that's great, have you ever used scaffolding? He was encouraging me in good habits, and scaffolding was my excuse for keeping up bad habits.

The code generated by the scaffolding templates is the first introduction to Ruby for many people. Using iterators in the scaffolding is kind of like putting out a welcome mat, and encouraging people to leave their bad habits at the door.

He doesn't provide any examples of what he "considers harmful", but I think you've misunderstood his point. He's basically saying: if you need to do some work on a collection of objects you probably don't need to explicitly iterate over the collection; you can use the Enumerable methods instead.

For example, I believe he means that:

orders.select(&:complete).each(&:archive!)

is better than:

orders.each do |order|      if order.complete?        order.archive!      end    end

There's nothing wrong with the way the scaffolding iterates (for x in y).

-- tim

So? That’s the same loop. “for … in” is easier to write and looks nicer in templates.