Eyetracking_on_RubyOnRails (cool technology, fun company, and we're hiring)

When you first saw the rubyonrails.com website, what did you read (and what did you skip)? What if companies could improve their webpages by getting feedback on where people skip information because it’s dull, poorly laid out, or confusing? Eyetools will be hosting a “hiring webinar” showing an eyetracking heatmap of the RubyOnRails.com homepage from when we eye-tracked a group of people learning about it (and, we’ll show you a number of other eyetracking results and interesting design tidbits).

We’re using Ruby and Rails to bring the world access to eyetracking data quickly (within days), easily (just send us a URL to test), and inexpensively (even small companies can afford it).

Eventually, we’re looking for full-time people, but you can start initially on a project and/or part-time basis – and you can work remotely. Jobs span the whole range: from sys-admin, to Rails programmer, to VP of Engineering. We’re not into sit-down interviews. Instead, the main “interview” will be you getting to work on a real project and getting paid to do it. (See a nicely written example of why, http://sethgodin.typepad.com/seths_blog/2006/09/the_end_of_the_.html
(Seth Goodin)).

To find out more, check out one of our webinars:

  • Tuesday, September 19, 9am PST / Noon EST (30 minutes)
  • Wednesday, September 20, 11:30am PST / 2:30pm EST (30 minutes)
  • Thursday, September 21, 2pm PST / 5pm EST (30 minutes)
    Email us at hiring9@eyetools.com to reserve a time (we’ll reply with a login url/phone number). Additionally, tell us what you love doing in Ruby/Rails, what you wish you could learn (after all, no one knows everything!), as well as what you have done in the past using it.

Company Background:
Eyetools provides services and tools to do eyetracking analysis (literally, tracking where people look on computer screens while they surf the web to find and visualize trends in how text and graphic design affects how people look at web pages). “If you can measure it, you can improve it.”

We’re a small, California-based corporation, funded entirely by client-revenue since 2000. Currently, we are the number one driver of eyetracking adoption in the commercial market.

Greg Edwards

CTO, Eyetools Inc.

gedwards1 at eyetools com

(916) 792 4538