Dynamic tag cloud

Hello everyone :slight_smile:

This is my first post to this list so let me briefly introduce myself. I am a student at Imperial College London and am currently learning to ride the rails. Together with two other students I am developing a revolutionary job platform for students.

At the moment I am implementing tagging into our application using DHH's acts_as_taggable plugin. In my database I have a table with job listings. Every job listing has various tags. As intended by the acts_as_taggable plugin these tags are stored in a table called tags and linked to the job listings through a table called taggings. I also have a tag cloud showing the most popular tags. So far everything is working fine.

Now I would like to modify my tag cloud in the following way: I have a page where users can narrow the job listings down using tags. They can click on a tag and then a list of all jobs carrying that tag is displayed. Now I would like to adjust my tag cloud accordingly. The tag cloud should now only show tags associated to the remaining jobs. In other words: By showing only those listings with a particular tag I am defining a subset of my database. Now I would like to show only tags out of that subset in my tag cloud. An example can be seen on Zoopla > Search Property to Buy, Rent, House Prices, Estate Agents . When you click on a tag the tags list gets updated and you can narrow your search down again using the new list of tags.

Any ideas about how I could accomplish such a dynamic tag cloud? Please be as specific as possible as I am relatively new to Ruby and Rails.

So far, my tag cloud is generated as described on

Many thanks for your help, Aeneas

Anyone? Could you at least point me in the right direction?

Aeneas

Sure, that’s pretty easy. You’ll need to extend the acts_as_taggable plugin though.

Lets say we add something like this to tab.rb:

def self.get_all_tagged_with_for_type(type, tags)

query = "SELECT taggable_id, name FROM"