Cygwin RoR + Windows MySQL Binary == nil

Hi folks. I'm just learning RoR, and I'm trying to get my development environment up and running on my Windows machine. I am working through Patrik Lenz's book from Sitepoint, but am getting stuck because of the esoteric way I set things up on my machine.

I already had the Ruby interpreter on my machine through Cygwin, so I thought it would be simpler to install the gem manager, and then all the related modules through Cygwin. Most of my web applications run in a Linux environment, anyway, so I'm comfortable with this approach, and it seemed to work pretty well.

Now here's the tricky part. Cygwin only gives you binaries for some programs. MySQL is not one of them. Usually, this isn't a problem, so I went to the MySQL web site, grabbed the current 5.0 Windows binary and installed. (I actually had an older version, which I had to remove first.) This wasn't a big deal. I even got the mysql bin directory in the $PATH variable in bash,

So here's where things get bizzare. I build a table called stories in the MySQL tutorial, just like in the book, and it works just fine. Then I go to my Rails application and run scripts/console. Following the directions in the book. I enter the following code:

class Story < ActiveRecord::Base; end ==> nil story = Story.new

This makes perfect sense to me, however, instead of getting a pleasant response from the second line, I get about twenty lines of exceptions. I won't bother with the whole thing, but is starts off: