Converting an Existing Website: Removing Duplicate Meta Data

Hi,

I have searched the forum to see if this has come up before. If it has and I missed it I am sorry.

I'm fairly new to Ruby on Rails and have converted an existing site. To avoid annoying redirects and disrupting search engine results I updated the routes.rb file so that the old file name renders the correct rhtml file. For example, photos.html renders /photos.

It works but the problem is that Google Webmaster Tools sees duplicate meta data and titles for each page. I would really appreciate information on how to correct this. I have been trying to figure out how to get google to ignore .html files or treat them as duplicate data but have had no luck so far.

Thanks,

Christine

Christine Nyb wrote:

Hi,

I have searched the forum to see if this has come up before. If it has and I missed it I am sorry.

I'm fairly new to Ruby on Rails and have converted an existing site. To avoid annoying redirects and disrupting search engine results I updated the routes.rb file so that the old file name renders the correct rhtml file. For example, photos.html renders /photos.

It works but the problem is that Google Webmaster Tools sees duplicate meta data and titles for each page.

What's an example of what you're seeing, and how is it not what you want?

I would really appreciate information on how to correct this. I have been trying to figure out how to get google to ignore .html files or treat them as duplicate data but have had no luck so far.

This may be a Google Webmaster Tools question, not a Rails one.

But...you could set things up so that instead of photos.html routing to the same place as photos, it simply makes a 301 or 302 redirect. Presumably Google will then understand that the two URLs are the same page, though you should check their docs to make sure. And for human users, the browsing experience will be essentially the same as before.

Thanks,

Christine

Best,

Marnen Laibow-Koser wrote: