Can you have a model with attributes of another model?

Ok so basically I have a problem. Im relatively new to rails and i seem to have come to a dead end. I wanted a model that could either be a URL, a video, a picture or a sound recording. Obviously this is impossible. I am gonna use attachment_fu if that helps. So whats the most DRY way of doing this. Each media thing, whether it be a video, a picture, a URL or a sound file must be classified under the same thing as, lets say a media object. Consequently they share attributes, like an id, a upload date, a description etc. However they differ in their actual media format.

Does anyone know how I should make my models and controllers. Thanks!

Zack,

Tuesday, July 13, 2010, 3:25:03 PM, you wrote:

Ok so basically I have a problem. Im relatively new to rails and i seem to have come to a dead end. I wanted a model that could either be a URL, a video, a picture or a sound recording. Obviously this is impossible. I am gonna use attachment_fu if that helps. So whats the most DRY way of doing this. Each media thing, whether it be a video, a picture, a URL or a sound file must be classified under the same thing as, lets say a media object. Consequently they share attributes, like an id, a upload date, a description etc. However they differ in their actual media format.

Does anyone know how I should make my models and controllers. Thanks! -- Posted via http://www.ruby-forum.com/.

Two possibilities come to mind: Subclassing and Mixins.

You can create

You probably want to use polymorphic associations.

Greg Donald wrote:

Does anyone know how I should make my models and controllers. Thanks!

You probably want to use polymorphic associations.

Active Record Associations — Ruby on Rails Guides

-- Greg Donald destiney.com | gregdonald.com